## APPRENTICE DRIVER EDUCATION INSTRUCTOR KNOWLEDGE TEST PREPERATION June 3, 2016

Key components of Maryland's Graduated Licensing System (GLS) include the Licensed and Certified Driving Schools, and the Licensed & Certified Instructors that they employ to deliver the approved driver education program. In order to become one of those licensed and certified instructors you must pass a **knowledge test** intended to assess your knowledge and understanding of fundamental Maryland Vehicle Law, MVA regulations, and the Maryland approved driver education program curriculum.

The computer administered knowledge test, which you may take at any full-service MVA Branch, will consist of a maximum of 50 multiple choice questions, randomly drawn from a pool of approximately 100 questions. The questions, and their correct answers, are drawn from the following sources: The Maryland Driver's Manual, version (09/15); the code of Maryland Agency Regulations (COMAR) 11.23.02 (Driver Education Program); and the Maryland Driver Education Curriculum 2014, Preface.

All test questions are weighted equally, and presented one at a time. Your test will automatically end when you have answered 40 questions correctly, or eleven questions incorrectly, whichever occurs first. The system is setup so that you may skip each question twice, without penalty. The first time and the second time you skip a question the system moves that question to the end of the test. The system will not allow you to use the skip function a third time, but instead force you to select an answer in order to move on in the test.

If you fail to obtain a passing score (80%) on the test, you will be permitted to take it again, after waiting at least 7 days. Should you fail on a fifth attempt, you will have to wait at least 1 year before reapplying for an apprentice instructor permit.

Your chances of successfully passing the knowledge test will be significantly increased if you read and become familiar with the following documents, in which <u>all</u> of the test questions and answers can be found.

- Maryland Driver's Manual (09/15), ALL
- Preface of the Maryland Approved Driver Education Program, 2014
- COMAR 11.23.02 Driver Education Program), Sections .08, .16, .18, .19, .21, .22, .27, .28, .32, .34, .36